Love of the Library!

library-425730_1280

I want to start this off a little differently than my other posts, with a little discussion. Who doesn’t love going to the bookstore and coming home with a stack of new books?! Some of us occasionally need to maybe pull back on the spending for a bit when it comes to buying books…and I certainly include myself in that group of people. It doesn’t always have to do with being on a budget either, sometimes I just don’t have room for any more books! Maybe the rest of you are a bit more organized but sometimes it takes me a while to reorganize and find the room for more books. During these times of low space or low budget I visit one of my favorite places…the library! Luckily for me, my local library is about a 1 minute walk from my house. Also my library lets you borrow ebooks which means I don’t even have to go anywhere if I’m in the mood to use my kindle. I will save the debate of book vs. ebook for another time… personally I read both.

The reason I bring this up is because I recently have gone crazy at my library getting books and it reminded me how great it is. I’ve noticed that my library is often pretty empty and wonder how many of you guys still visit your library or do you prefer to just purchase your books on your kindle or at a bookstore. If your one of those people I’d like to make my case to give libraries another shot. I’ve already mentioned the cost savings as well as the space saving benefits if you’re like me and that’s an issue. Another benefit that I’ve found, and this is I think my favorite one, is that I discover so many great books that I’ve missed over the years. Now discovering a great book that you missed is a value in and of itself but even greater is that because it came out several years ago I don’t have to wait for the next book in the series to come out!! So maybe I’m a nerd but when I finish a book and I’ve really become invested in the characters the first thing I check is when the next book in the series comes out…and sometimes the wait for that book just stinks! If you’re like me and sometimes love binge reading a great series then you’ll understand why I love the library so much!

So my library haul included these books:

libraryhaul

  • Mortal Danger (Immortal Game #1) by Ann Aguirre
  • Shadows (The Rephaim #1) by Paula Weston
  • Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy #1) by Sarah Rees Brennan
  • The Name of the Star (Shades of London #1) by Maureen Johnson

Naturally all of these books are part of a series and I am now happily invested in all of them. I am currently deciding which second in the series book I should start first. I’ll also be putting up a review of at least one of these books up on the site soon.

I would love to hear from you guys on this topic! First, do you still make use of your local library or am I just living in the past? If so what do you love about it? If not, why not? And let’s not forget the books!! Have you read any of the books I recently picked up? Or is there a book or series from the past that you’d recommend for a future library visit. I’m still new to the blogging community and up until now have posted only reviews of books and this is my first attempt at hopefully starting a discussion. I thought I’d start with this topic because as a lover of books I have also been a long time lover of libraries.

One thought on “Love of the Library!

Leave a Reply

