Saturday’s Stacking the Shelves!

stackingtheshelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme that’s hosted every Saturday by Tynga’s Reviews.  It’s a fun way to let everyone know what books your adding to your collection.  I love these kinds of posts because I find myself looking at what everyone has added recently and finding I want to add more books to my list.  I thought that this week was the perfect time to participate because I had a birthday this past week which means….LOTS OF NEW BOOKS! YAY!  Also, this past Sunday was Mother’s Day and my sister also had a birthday this past week.  Basically that means I did not have time to write the book reviews I had planned.  I have some good reviews coming up next week but in the meantime I’ll share all the new books taking up space on my shelves this week.  I thought I’d include a quick summary of the blurb from each in case anyone wants to add one to their TBR pile.

This past week I purchased the following books that I’m very excited about:

bdaybooks

  • First up is Cold Burn of Magic by Jennifer Estep:  This one is about a high school girl who lives in a small tourist town full of magic, monsters, and feuding families.  Her mother was murdered and she now lives in the basement of the local library.  She has to step in when some shady characters show up in her friends pawn shop or risk a cute guy dying.  That’s a quick summary of the blurb and I think it sounds great..I must say part of the appeal is a girl who lives in a library..how great would that be!
  • Next is Die for Me by Amy Plum:  This is the story of Kate Mercer, who moves to Paris with her grandparents after her parents are killed in a car accident. Kate escapes into books and art until she meets..you guessed it a handsome boy.  His name is Vincent and he’s a revenant (an undead being forced by fate to sacrifice himself again and again to save others) and he’s at war against evil revanants.  That’s basically the gist of what I got from Goodreads, I’m noticing a theme so far of heroines whose parents are dying and who love books….let’s see if it continues.
  • The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin:  I don’t know much about this book, it was recommended by goodreads and the summary isn’t very long.  Apparently Mara Dyer wakes up in the hospital after being in an accident that killed her friends.  She was unharmed but doesn’t remember how she got there.  She also apparently finds love unexpectedly.  I was intrigued and the cover is beautiful! I guess I will have to read it and find out if her parents are alive and if she loves books, I’ll let you all know 🙂
  • Unearthly by Cynthia Hand:  Another book that drew me in with it’s beautiful cover.  Clara finds out that she’s part angel and needs to discover exactly what that means and what purpose she’s meant to fulfill.  She has a vision of a fire and a stranger and ends up in a new school in a new place.  She meets Christian, who it seems she may have been dreaming about and another boy Tucker, who may be the bad boy.  That’s my quick thoughts on the book…angel, possible prophetic dreams, and I’m guessing a love triangle. It will either be great or cliche…I’m hoping for great.
  • Wildefire by Karsten Knight:  Ashline Wilde travels across the country to go to Blackwood Academy.  She was hoping to get a fresh start after a girl was murdered in her hometown…by her SISTER! No luck for her because apparently her sister followed her across the country.  As if that’s not enough the forest and campus are filled with supernatural creatures.  Reincarnated gods and goddesses have been summoned to the school and are somehow involved as well.  I love books that take place in boarding schools, I don’t know why.  I’m pretty excited about this one it seems like it will be full of suspense and action.

As if those weren’t enough I also made a trip to my library.  I can’t help it when it’s only like a block away. Here are the two books I picked up there:

libraryhaul2

  • Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick:  I’ve read a lot of good reviews about this one and figured it was time I picked it up.  It’s about Nora Grey who isn’t looking for love but finds it unexpectedly when she meets Patch.  She’s not sure if she can trust him or not though.  Plus she finds herself in the middle of an ancient battle.
  • Last but not least, Fated by Alyson Noel:  Daire Santos finds that strange things are happening to her so her mother sends her to live with her grandmother.  She’s dreaming and having visions of a guy with blue eyes.  Her grandmother realizes this to mean that she’s a soul seeker or someone who navigates between the world of the living and the dead.  She then meets Dace who is, of course, the guy from her dreams.  I keep seeing this book everywhere and thought I’d give it a try as well.

That’s it! I had a very busy week as far as acquiring books to read and I’m very excited to get started on some major reading.  Feel free to comment and let me know if you’ve read any of these yet.  Any recommendations on where to start?  Also back at the top of the post I’ve linked to Tynga’s Reviews where you can check out her Stacking the Shelves post as well as find links to other posts.

4 thoughts on “Saturday’s Stacking the Shelves!

Leave a Reply

