Posted in book review

Becoming: The Balance Bringer

Becomingthebalancebringer

Title:  Becoming: The Balance Bringer (The Balance Bringer Chronicles Book
Author:  Debra Kristi
Publisher:  Ghost Girl Publishing March 16, 2015
Format:  ebook, Read and Review copy from author
My Rating:  4/5 stars

star-493057_1280star-493057_1280star-493057_1280star-493057_1280

Our heroine in this story is Anala, or Ana.  For a long time she dreams of a place called Hiddenkel where she gets to spend time with some people she’s grown to care about.  In this dream world of hers she gets to spend time with her older sister Kaia.  Of course, as far as she knows this sister never really existed anywhere other than her dreams.  The only sister she knows is her sister Crystia.  Her dream world of Hiddenkel is also where she gets to meet the alluring Dohlan, she feels a pull to him she can’t explain.  Things quickly start to change and Ana begins to wonder just how much of her dreams are fantasy and how much is real.  Her best friend Ryland seems to know more than he’s letting on and her mother won’t offer her any answers either.  When things and people from her dreams start showing up in her real life and she starts to develop strange abilities she realizes she has to find answers and quick… Because not everything or everyone from her dreams is good and dark shadows seem to be coming after her during the day.

This book was completely different from most of the books I read but I’m glad I gave it a chance.  It’s hard to talk too much about the details of the story without giving anything away so I’m going to try to stay away from that.  At the start of the story we find Ana confused with a lot of things… her dreams and the secrets she feels are being kept from her by the people closest to her.  To be honest, for longer than I’m used to I was also VERY confused!  However, as the story went on and things became clearer for Ana they also became clearer for me.  It became a major way of connecting to the main character.  I found myself saying things like “What!? How could they have not told us that before now?!!”  Major revelations to Ana became major revelations to Ana and me.   I can honestly say that this is one of the only books I’ve read in a while that surprised me and kept me guessing from start to finish.

I read a lot of different genres of books but tend to stick with contemporary novels.  Becoming: The Balance Bringer is more fantasy than I’m used to.  It felt like part contemporary and part other time and other worldly.  It really made me feel like the places Ana traveled to in her dreams were real.  The longer I read the more I wanted to know about the fantasy world called Hiddenkel.  The last part of the book explodes with action and revelations and left me wanting more.  My imagination is already running wild thinking of all the possible scenarios Ana will soon find herself in.  All in all a fun read, especially for lovers of fantasy.

Becoming: The Balance Bringer (The Balance Bringer Chronicles, #1)

Leave a Reply

