Posted in book review

Fated!

fated

Title: Fated (Soul Seekers)
Author: Alyson Noel
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin (November 13, 2012)
Format: Paperback, Library copy
My Rating: 3/5 stars

star-493057_1280star-493057_1280star-493057_1280

Daire has spent her life, up until this point, traveling the world with her mother. Her mother is a Hollywood makeup artist and it’s just been her and Daire right from the start. Daire’s father died before she was born so the only family she is even aware of his a grandmother on her father’s side who she has never met. Sometime before her 16th birthday she starts having incredibly realistic dreams about an incredibly good looking guy with beautiful eyes. The strange things only begin with the dreams… she starts to see glowing people and ravens. It all comes to a head on her 16th birthday when she the things she sees become overwhelming and everyone, including doctors and her mother, think she’s going crazy. When none of the doctors can help and her mother out of options, Daire is sent to go live with the grandmother that she has never met in a place called Enchantment, New Mexico. It’s when she meets her grandmother Paloma that she finds out, with some convincing, that she’s not crazy and the things she’s seeing and experiencing are real. She’s a seeker and her grandmother is going to teach her what that means and the power that comes with it. Let’s not forget that once she goes to school she comes face to face with the guy from her dreams…and his evil brother who we also met in her dream.

landscape-670958_1280

Now the blurb had me intrigued right away! I have never read any of Alyson Noel’s books and this one sounded like a great one to start with. It seemed like a unique story…no angels, no vampires, no werewolves and the story sounded great. I have to start with my biggest problem with the book because it became a problem right in the beginning. It was incredibly difficult to connect with the main character. For a long time I didn’t feel like I was getting any insight into the type of person she was and it was difficult to relate. Add to that the fact that nothing seemed to be happening. She had some crazy visions and she moved to her grandmothers where she was told she was the seeker. Apparently that was a big deal and she was going to have to do very important things but as the reader we weren’t given any clues as to what those things might be. Now I did give it 3 stars so I did like the book, I just had to start with the negative because that’s the first impression I had.

It took a while but eventually the plot begins to thicken and we start to get some action. We get more insight as to why Cade, the evil twin, is evil other than just Daire getting a bad vibe from him. Daire begins to grow as a character and we begin to see her accept her role as the seeker and start to care for other people. Dace, the good twin, also gets a little more development and we see him as more than just the hot nice guy she made out with in her dreams. I don’t want to give any spoilers but the latter part of the book really brings everything together and it’s the first time I really began to understand who the characters really were. We get some action and intrigue! And for the first time I found myself excited and curious to find out what was coming next…caring about what happened to all the characters. We got to see more of the paranormal world we’re introduced to in the beginning. The ending really saved the book for me. I could see the potential for the story to continue in the next book. Fated had a satisfying ending while leaving some mystery for the next book. Where would Daire and Dace’s fate lead them? I have to say I want to find out. Although the story started off very slow it picked up at the end and I’m hoping that continues into the next book and I plan on picking it up to find out. Overall I liked the book and even thought it took a while I see the potential for me to like the next one even more. If it sounds like something you’d like I’d recommend being patient as it does pick up pace, it just takes a little longer than usual.  That being said I am excited to see where this series goes.

Fated (Soul Seekers, #1)

Leave a Reply

