Posted in book review

Undertow

undertow

Title:  Undertow (Undertow #1)
Author:  K.R Conway
Publisher:  Wicked Whale Publishing
Release Date:  July 21, 2015
Format:  eARC via Netgalley
My Rating:  4/5 stars

If Eila Walker ever had any luck at all it was bad luck.  That’s why she is so surprised to find out that she’s inherited a million dollar home in Cape Cod.  Her guardian, Mae, and her decide that his might be exactly what they need…a fresh start.  Her new town isn’t perfect but she quickly makes a few new friends.  MJ and Ana are great and help make starting a new school bearable.  Then there’s Raef O’Reilly…the mysterious guy who she feels drawn to.  All her luck seems to be changing until shes pulled under the water by an unnatural undertow and is saved by Raef.  The strange thing is the way his eyes turn completely black.  Raef and her friends can no longer hide from Eila what they are, or what she is.

The premise of this book had me excited right away and I was thrilled when I was able to read it!  This was a page turner right from the start.  It was one of those books where I found myself talking to the characters.  There was a lot of No no no…this is not going to end well! Or Trust your insticts something is not RIGHT!  Who just gives a stranger a million dollar house… you’re right it’s WEIRD!  Maybe I’m crazy but I love when this happens when I’m reading, it makes me feel like I’m a part of their world and isn’t that kind of the point when you’re reading.  The excitement level, or in my case anxiety level, was high from beginning to end! Many times when I’m reading a book, even a good book, there are lulls in the excitement level but not here.  The entire time I was on edge waiting for the next big thing to happen or the next big revelation.

The characters were also amazing, Eila was very relatable as were her friends.  They felt like a group of friends everyone could find themselves fitting into.  When Eila met MJ their chemistry was pretty instant… he was such a fun loving, goofy guy that you couldn’t help but love him.  Ana was pretty bad ass and definitely not your typical girly girl.  Even though she seemed pretty tough on the outside you can tell she had a loving heart and would make a great friend.  Again I would love to be friends with this group!  Let’s move on to the brothers…Raef, Eila’s love interest, and Kian.    Kian is the older brother and has some sort of mysterious past with Ana.  He’s sassy and full of himself but a very fun character, I found myself wishing he was the main romantic lead in this story.  Then there’s Raef, everything a girl wants in a romantic lead…sweet, sexy, protective, and he saves the damsel in distress.  I should have loved him but I found myself wishing there was more to him.  Don’t get me wrong, by the end of the book I did love him but if I was reading this one just for the romance I’m not sure he would have kept me intrigued.  Luckily, there was so much more to this book than just the romance.

Overall, Undertow was an exciting read that kept me hanging onto every word!  The more I read the more I felt like I was part of their world and the more I wanted to be friends with this eclectic group of characters!  So go ahead and pick this one up because it did not disappoint.

2 thoughts on “Undertow

Leave a Reply

