Book Club Review: The Distance Between Us

SIW banner

Recently I was invited to join a book club on goodreads that is hosted by the lovely Dana from Dana Square and Steph from Steph in Wonderland.  I have been wanting to be a part of a book club for a long time and this one is just what I was looking for.  There were two picks this month but despite my best efforts I was only able to read one…The Distance Between Us by Kasie West.  In my defense I have read the other pick, Vampire Academy, before.  In short, I am loving the book club and plan on posting a review each month from at least one of the book club selections.

thedistancebetweenus

Title:  The Distance Between Us
Author:  Kasie West
Publisher:  Harper Teen
Release Date:  July 2, 2013
Format: eBook from library
My Rating:  4/5 Stars

Caymen Meyers is a seventeen year old girl who works in her mother’s doll shop and they live in the apartment right above it.  Caymen knows that the rich people who come in to buy their dolls are only good for one thing…spending money.  When Xander Spence came in to the shop to buy a doll she had no reason to change her opinion about rich people because of him, even though he is sweet and charming.  When he shows interest in her and they start to connect she fully expects him to lose interest.  The problem is she’s really starting to enjoy spending time with him.  She hides her growing relationship with Xander from her mother because she would never approve…but is she the only one hiding something?

Until I read this book I hadn’t read very many YA contemporary romances…well unless they had something else going on…fantasy, suspense, mystery, paranormal… I always liked a little something more.  I am so glad I read this book though! Right away I loved Caymen…she was sarcastic and funny and just plain awesome.  Xander was a good balance to her character,  I wouldn’t say he’s her complete opposite but pretty close.  They were sweet together and they each gave the other one something they needed through their differences.  I especially loved seeing this through their choices of activities for the “career days” they planned for each other.  I’ll give an example that I don’t think is too spoilery and perfectly shows why I loved these two together…Xander took Caymen on a day of photography to see if that was something she’d love to do.  Caymen countered by taking Xander to the cemetery for a day of grave digging. See I told you…she’s sassy!

I could go on and on about how much I loved the book because of Caymen and Xander and their relationship but there are other things going on in The Distance Between Us to keep the reader interested besides young love.  There’s the relationship between Caymen and her mother, Susan.  For the first time, Caymen is not being completely honest with her mother.  Also for the first time she feels like her mother is keeping something from her.  At first this little mystery seems small…with her finding odd things at the shop but then there’s a mysterious “dark” man.  Intrigued yet?

There are so many little things that I love about this book, from the things and characters I’ve already mention to all the people on the sidelines.   For starters Skye (Caymen’s best friend) and her boyfriend Henry aka “Toad” could have their own book…I know I’d read it.  What I’m saying is that I went into The Distance Between Us thinking that it was just a sweet, silly little romance between two young kids but ended up getting a whole lot more.  What is Caymen’s mother hiding? How will her mother react when she finds out about Xander?  Is Caymen right to think Xander will eventually get bored?  Is Xander just another typical “rich guy”?  I loved this book!   It wasn’t perfect but I stayed up way too late reading it and immediately wanted to read another contemporary romance…..and I did too so I think that says it all.

The Distance Between Us
Leave a Reply

