Dark Heart of Magic

darkheartofmagic

Title:  Dark Heart of Magic (Black Blade #2)
Author:  Jennifer Estep
Published:  October 27, 2015 by Kensington
Format:  eARC via Netgalley
myrating2 star2star2star2star2

If you’re a lover of books, like me, then you probably have a list of authors that you just love!  When you see that they have a book coming out you start a countdown and circle the date in your calendar.  Jennifer Estep has quickly become one of those authors for me.  I absolutely loved the first book in this series, Cold Burn of Magic, so I was super excited to get my hands on this one.  We are once again following the life of Lila as she continues to be Devon’s bodyguard.  She’s also still focused on figuring out what the Draconi’s have planned.  She quickly has another thing on her plate that requires her attention… she’s competing for the Sinclair family in the Tournament of Blades.  The tournament brings even more danger to her already complicated life because it looks like someone is going to a lot of trouble to make sure they win.  Lila plans on figuring out who.

Jennifer Estep’s writing quickly drew me in again, I just love the world she’s created at Cloudburst Falls.  I would totally be one of the annoying tourists in this town if it really existed.  We find Lila still a thief at heart that’s tough and full of sass.  She’s still determined to find out what the Draconi’s have planned and then get out of dodge as soon as she does.  The only problem I have with her plan is it means that she refuses to acknowledge or do anything about the feelings she has for Devon so I’m left screaming Oh come on kiss him already!! You know…because we all talk to the characters in the books we read right?  There wasn’t as much interaction between Lila and Devon, of the romantic variety, as I would have liked but that’s just me.  Luckily, there was plenty of other intriguing things to keep me reading.

As if trying to figure out the Draconi’s evil plan and avenging her mother wasn’t enough, Lila is also working as Devon’s bodyguard, competing in the Tournament of Blades, trying to figure out who would kill to win the tournament, and trying to figure out who or what is killing the monsters in the forest.  There was so much to keep me guessing that I just couldn’t put the book down.  Sometimes when there are so many things going on in one book it can become muddled and overwhelming to the reader but Estep weaves everything together beautifully.

Now there is still going to be another book in this series so of course the ending left me wishing I could magically get my hands on it as soon as possible.  With everything going on in this book I couldn’t believe the ending…so many unexpected things!! I don’t do spoilers so let me just say I did not see some of this stuff coming!  I was pretty proud of myself for seeing certain things coming but other things were a total shocking twist!  Overall this book is amazing and made me love this series even more!  I can’t wait to see more of Cloudburst Falls in the next book to see what happens.  I hope we get a little more insight into the characters and their relationships with each other…yes I’m talking mostly about Devon and Lila.

If you haven’t started this series yet I recommend you give it a try..it’s got a little something for everyone.   Have you started this series yet?  Read anything else by Jennifer Estep? Let me know what you thought and happy reading!


My Review of Cold Burn of Magic (Black Blade #1)


 Dark Heart of Magic (Black Blade, #2)           Find it on Amazon here!

Leave a Reply

