Critical Hit-On

criticalhiton Title:  Critical Hit-On (The Games of Love #1)
Author:  Deanna Dee
Published:  February 25th 2015 by Deanna Dee
Format:  eCopy from the author

myrating3 star2star2star2star2half  (3.5/5)

Molly Moreau moved back home after finishing school and got a job at a bar and grill. She decided she was going to leave her “geek” life behind.  Of course she loved role playing games, trading cards, and all the other things that geeks love but when she caught her boyfriend with another girl she decided that she would leave the geek life behind and only date “normal” guys.  Craig Lawrence hasn’t had luck with girls since his last girlfriend broke up with him because he spent too much of his time looking out for his rebellious younger sister.  When Craig meets Molly at the bar she works at he knows she’s just the type of girl for him…I mean she even knows her Star Trek references.  Will Molly let her guard down and date a geek? Has Craig found the girl for him… and how willl she handle his other priorities?

Now I will start of by saying that I’m more of a nerd than a geek and by that I mean I know nothing about role playing games or card games or anything like that so I wasn’t sure what to expect when reading this book.   I was afraid I would get lost in the gamer lingo and although there were a couple terms I wasn’t familiar with it didn’t detract from the story at all.   You certainly don’t need to be a geek or a gamer to enjoy this book.  Anyone can relate to Molly, who is basically a girl who got hurt by a guy and is afraid to trust again.  The same can be said for Craig who wonders if he can be in a relationship and still have time to focus on the other important things in his life…his family.  I found the issues the characters were dealing with were very relate-able and I especially loved the supporting cast.  Craig and Molly’s friends were awesome and I would love for some of them to get their own stories…fingers crossed!

Now I struggled trying to decide what rating to give this book, as a said I really enjoyed the story.  My biggest fear was that  it was about geeks/gamers and that would totally lose my interest, since that’s not something I was involved in, was definitely not true.  I was happy to find that I enjoyed that aspect of the characters and the story very much.  The only thing I struggled with was certain things about Molly and Craig.  When it comes to Molly I understand that she was hurt by her last boyfriend and that he was involved in the gamer culture but I thought it was weird that her distrust of men only extended to other “geeks”.  I mean if a guy cheated on me I wouldn’t be like…oh it must be because he’s a gamer.  I just found that weird and I imagine most people wouldn’t have an issue with that but for some reason it bothered me.  Then there’s Craig, his sister is extra rebellious these days and so he feels he should hide that from Molly.  I don’t really understand the need to lie about that.  But I guess if his last relationship ended because of the time he spent dealing with his sister that might explain his reluctance.  I just think that not telling her he has a rebellious sister doesn’t change the fact that he’ll still have to spend time looking out for his sister.

So, I may have had some minor issues with the choices the main characters made but the story was lovely.  The love story was sweet and quickly found myself rooting for Molly and Craig.  I would love to read another story starring some of the fun characters we met in Critical Hit-On.  I think gamers may find a bit extra to love about this and I was happy to read a book with an idea so new to me.

Critical Hit-On (The Games of Love, #1)

One thought on “Critical Hit-On

  1. Oh god, the cheating logic in some YA fiction baffles me sometimes. If a gamer guy cheats on me, I also wouldn’t be like oh that’s because he’s a gamer. I read this book once in which the protagonist swears off technology because her boyfriend cheats on her online, and I think that’s just ridiculous.

    Great review, though! I’m glad that you found the characters and issues generally relatable. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

