Jamie Quinn Mystery Review!

One of the best things about being a blogger is being contacted by wonderful authors asking if you’d like to review their book.  Once I was contacted by the author about this box set I knew it was something I would want to read.  I also have to add that it’s available for Kindle Unlimited if you subscribe to that….yay!  As soon as I saw that I picked it up immediately and added it to my list.  This is one of those books that I may not have found or picked up on my own but I’m glad I had the chance to read it.

summaryoverlook

 

Books 1-3 of the Jamie Quinn Mystery Series! Including:

Death by Didgeridoo“-Winner of the Indie Book of the Day award. Reluctant lawyer, Jamie Quinn, still reeling from the death of her mother, is pulled into a game of deception, jealousy, and vengeance when her cousin, Adam, is wrongfully accused of murder. It’s up to Jamie to find the real murderer before it’s too late. It doesn’t help that the victim is a former rock star with more enemies than friends, or that Adam confessed to a murder he didn’t commit.

The Case of the Killer Divorce“-Reluctant lawyer, Jamie Quinn, has returned to her family law practice after a hiatus due to the death of her mother. It’s business as usual until a bitter divorce case turns into a murder investigation, and Jamie’s client becomes the prime suspect. When she can’t untangle truth from lies, Jamie enlists the help of Duke Broussard, her favorite private investigator, to try to clear her client’s name. And she’s hoping that, in his spare time, he can help her find her long-lost father.

Peril in the Park“-There’s big trouble in the park system. Someone is making life difficult for Jamie Quinn’s boyfriend, Kip Simons, the new director of Broward County parks. Was it the angry supervisor passed over for promotion? The disgruntled employee Kip recently fired? Or someone with a bigger ax to grind? If Jamie can’t figure it out soon, she may be looking for a new boyfriend because there’s a dead guy in the park and Kip has gone missing! With the help of her favorite P.I., Duke Broussard, Jamie must race the clock to find Kip before it’s too late.

A preview of the next Jamie Quinn Mystery, “Engaged in Danger,” can be found at the end of the book.

reviewoverlay

First thing I want to say is that I’m glad I picked up the box set instead of just starting with the first book because they were quick reads that drew me in.  Once i finished the first one I instantly moved on to the next one.  Another thing I want to start off with is that I love mysteries but for some reason I usually shy away from mysteries where the heroine is a lawyer.  I don’t know why but I usually find them too procedural and dry.  That was not the case with Jamie Quinn.  She’s relate able and you quickly find yourself rooting for her.  She’s the type of main character that you’d want to be your friend because she’d always be on your side.

I took a break from reading a slew of cozy mysteries where amateur sleuths go around trying to solve mysteries while getting themselves into all kinds of trouble so when I started reading about Jamie Quinn, it was refreshing.  She’s intelligent and isn’t afraid to do some investigating but for some of the trickier stuff she has her friend and private investigator, Duke, to help her out.  I have to say I LOVE Duke!  He’s just such a wonderful character and I’m glad he sticks around throughout all of the books.   As the story and books go on you really get to know Jamie, Duke, and other members of her friends and family more and more.  There’s actually a story line revolving around her father that runs through all the books that I just found extremely interesting, it felt like I was discovering things right along with Jamie.  The story and character growth really seemed to progress naturally and made the story more enjoyable to read.

I know that I love this series because after quickly reading through the three books in this box set I instantly checked to see if there was a fourth that I could get my hands on….spoiler there is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

