The Edge of Juniper

edgeofjuniper   juniperinfo

Did you ever have a book on your TBR that just gets lost in the madness….that was this book for me.  I should have gotten around to reading this book a lot sooner.  Not only because the I received a copy from the author which is super nice but because it’s a fantastic book!  I do have to say for those of you who may pick up this book (and I hope you do) that it’s not all fluffy teen romance.  There are some serious issues discussed in the book. Don’t let that deter you because it’s  a wonderful story.  Well, lets get on with the summary and then we’ll jump into the review!

summarystars“You’re off-limits, so why can’t I stop thinking about you?”

Fay Whitaker, sixteen years old and yearning for adventure, is excited to spend the summer with her fearless cousin Celia in small-town Juniper, Indiana.

But Fay soon discovers that her summer home is not what she expected. She is alarmed by her uncle’s temper, and learns of the grudge he holds against the Dearing family. Celia handles the tension at home by escaping with her boyfriend, leaving Fay with time on her hands—time that leads her straight to Malcolm Dearing, off-limits because of his last name. Fay is captivated by Malcolm’s warmth and intensity. She finds that trying to stay away from him only makes her think of him more.

Fay and Celia are launched on a journey, and each must attempt to navigate the thrilling and unpredictable world of love. Everything Fay thinks she knows about love is put to the test, as relationships unfold and reveal themselves in ways she never before dreamed.

reviewstars

I have to start off by saying that many of the YA romances that I’ve read come across as almost fantasy…and by that I mean highly unrealistic.  What I loved most about The Edge of Juniper is the realism.  Fay, her parents, her aunt and uncle, and her cousins all have real lives and real problems are a part of that too.  It’s nice to see characters confront and deal with these type of issues.  Although I do like to read to get away, it’s also nice to see the strength of characters come across on the page.  I feel like Lora Richardson does this very well.

That’s not to say there isn’t any wonderfully cute teenage romance…because there is.  There’s a little bit of the forbidden romance as far as Fay and Malcolm go.  I’m not a fan of the ‘bad guy’ who changes for love thing so I was happy to read about these two sweet characters.  They have enough obstacles to deal with to make their love story interesting from start to finish.

I have to say in the beginning I found some of the characters kind of unlikeable.  Fay seemed naïve,  her cousin Celia does not seem very friendly, and her Aunt and Uncle…not great.  I was concerned I wouldn’t like anyone but the more you read the more you learn about these people and realize why they are the way they are.  It’s satisfying to watch these characters grow and change from chapter to chapter.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this one to anyone looking for a YA contemporary romance that really hits all the right notes.

The Edge of Juniper

Are you a fan of Ya or contemporary romances?  What’s your favorite thing about them? I’d love to hear from you in the comments below.  Let me know if The Edge of Juniper is making it onto your TBR.  Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

